Support for This Work


The work is supported by volunteers who are branch church members and appointed by their branch churches as representatives to this committee.  There are eleven zones in New York State.  Each is governed democratically through its Zone Committee and made up of representatives (and alternates where possible) from participating branches who largely determine the institutional work to be carried out in their geographic vicinity.  Representatives keep their own churches informed of this activity and recommend potential volunteers to their own board which, in turn, submits names to the state committee. (Representatives are appointed by the branch churches, whereas the volunteers are recommended by the branches, but appointed by the committee.)  Each Zone elects its own officers; the chairman oversees the activity in his/her zone and automatically becomes a member of the Executive Committee, the governing board of the State Committee.

        Current Executive Committee Members : 

      Bonnie Loan: Executive Administrator

          Chairman: Charles Levitt, Mid-Hudson Zone

                Vice Chairman: Lois Simmonds, Westchester/Rockland Zone  

Treasurer: Esther Haney, South Central Zone

                                              Janet Torres: Adirondack Zone                                                                                                 William Furbeck: Central Zone                                                                                                 Anita Koffler: Metropolitan Zone                                                                                                 Ruth Roig: Nassau Zone                                                                                                           Jinny Ewald and Fran Iwanicki: Suffolk Zone                                                                           Joyce Mager: West Central Zone                                                                                             Diane Howard: Western Zone

The State Committee meets two times a year in New York City or by telephone conferences that enable all zone chairs to participate in reviewing state activities and needs. Each zone also has periodic meetings for its representatives and volunteers.  Zones select local institutions to be served and handle their own scheduling and day-to-day relations as appropriate.

Branch churches make pro rata contributions in support of the work, prepare literature for distribution, maintain space for books to be brought to facilities and sponsor Christian Science lectures in the facilities with help from the State Committee.

This work strengthens a branch church by enlarging the scope of the concept of “church,” by answering the calls for help from a community which would not otherwise have access to the many avenues by which healing and regeneration are reached.